Connacht GAA Football

The Connacht Senior Football Championship is played with all of the counties in the province of Connacht as well as the Gaelic football teams from London and New York. The competition only has 7 teams total which is one of the smaller provincial championships. It is one of the most interesting provincial championships because it includes international competition as well as Irish county teams.

New York has never reached the final of the championship as it is difficult to find any great talent in Gaelic football in New York. London only has 3 wins in the entire history of the competition one in 1977 and two in 2013, against Sligo and Leitrim. London incredibly made the final in 2013 only to suffer a loss at the hands of Mayo. Galway is the most successful team from the Connacht province with 47 Connacht Senior Football Titles and 9 All-Ireland Senior Football Titles. Galway won the competition in 2018 but the competition is always fiercely competitive so be on the lookout for Mayo and Roscommon to challenge Galway for the title in 2019. The winners of the championship automatically qualify for the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship quarter-finals.