Homegrown Jackson Hopkins Added to USA’s CONCACAF U-20 Championship Roster 

CHICAGO (June 24, 2022) – United States Men’s National Under-20 Team midfielder Obed Vargas has been ruled out of the 2022 Concacaf Under-20 Championship due to injury. in the back. After Concacaf accepted US Soccer’s request to replace Vargas, DC United midfielder Jackson Hopkins was added to the 20-man roster for the competition.

According to the tournament rules, an injured player can be substituted if injured after the group stage of the competition. The replacement must come from the provisional list of 60 players.

Hopkins trained with U-20 MYNT in Honduras before the tournament as a substitute. The 17-year-old midfielder signed as a local player with DC in April and made his MLS debut this season, playing six games in all competitions. He also played five games for Loudoun United in the USL Championship this year.

USA will kick off the knockout phase of the Concacaf U-20 Championship on Saturday June 25 against Nicaragua (8:30 p.m. ET; Vix and Concacaf App, Facebook and YouTube).

2022 CONCACAF U-20 CHAMPIONSHIP POST ROSTER (CLUB; HOMETOWN; U-20 CAPS/GOALS) GOALKEEPERS (2): Christopher Brady (Chicago Fire FC; Naperville, Ill.; 1/0), Antonio Carrera ( FC Dallas; Frisco, Texas; 0/0)

DEFENDERS (6): Noah Allen (InterMiami CF; Miramar, FL; 0/0), Brandan Craig (Philadelphia Union; Philadelphia, PA; 1/0), Mauricio Cuevas (Club Brugge/BEL; Los Angeles, CA). ; 1/0), Marcus Ferkranus (LA Galaxy; Santa Clarita, Calif.; 1/0), Michael Halliday (Orlando City SC; Apopka, Fla.; 0/0), Jalen Neal (LA Galaxy; Lakewood, Calif.; 3/ 0)

MIDFIELDERS (9): Paxten Aaronson (Philadelphia Union; Medford, NJ; 3/1), Alejandro Alvarado Jr. (FC Vizela/POR; Los Angeles, CA; 0/0), Caden Clark (New York Red Bulls; Wayzata, Minnesota; 3/1) Daniel Edelman (New York Red Bulls; Warren, NJ; 3/0), Jackson Hopkins (DC United; Fredericksburg, Virginia; 0/0), Diego Luna (Real Salt Lake; Sunnyvale, Calif. ; 3/1), Jack McGlynn (Philadelphia Union; Middle Village, NY; 3/0), Rokas Pukstas (Hajduk Split/CRO; Sillwater, Okla.; 3/0), Niko Tsakiris (San Jose Earthquakes; Saratoga, Calif. ;0/0),

FORWARDS (3): Cade Cowell (San Jose Earthquakes; Ceres, CA; 2/0), Quinn Sullivan (Philadelphia Union; Philadelphia, PA; 2/1), Tyler Wolff (Atlanta United FC; Braselton, Georgia; 1/0 )

Leave a Comment