How many non-Americans have won the US Open?

With only one round remaining at the US Open 2022, the ranking reflects the diversity of winners over the past 20 years. Will Zalatoris (USA) and Matt Fitpatrick (England) share first place with defending US Open 2021 winner Jon Rahm (Spain) just one shot back after a double bogey on the 18th. They are joined by two other international players in the top 10: Adam Hadwin (Canada) and Rory McIlroy (Northern Ireland).

US Open Winners 2001 – 2021

The US Open has been won 10 times in the past 20 years by players born outside the United States:

  1. 2001 Retief Goosen (South Africa)
  2. 2004 Retief Goosen (South Africa)
  3. 2005 Michael Campbell (New Zealand)
  4. 2006 Geoff Ogilvy (Australia)
  5. 2007 Angel Cabrera (Argentina)
  6. 2010 Graeme McDowell (Northern Ireland)
  7. 2011 Rory McIlroy (Northern Ireland)
  8. 2013 Justin Rose (England)
  9. 2014 Martin Kaymer (Germany)
  10. 2021 Jon Rahm (Spain)

Looking back at the history of the US Open, which held its first competition in 1895, there are four periods which can be clearly subdivided according to the amount (or lack thereof) of international winners. The last two decades of US Open winners, as seen above, have been evenly split between American and international golfers. Going back in time to the start in 1895, some different patterns of US Open winners emerge across nationalities.

1946- 2000 US Open winners

The US Open was not held from 1943 to 1945 due to World War II and dates back from 2000 to 1946, only five wins came from players outside the United States:

  • 1965 Gary Player (South Africa)
  • 1970Tony Jacklin (England)
  • 1981 David Graham (Australia)
  • 1994 and 1997 Ernie Els (South Africa)

1911- 1942 US Open winners

Before World War II, American golfers dominated their Open with only four foreign-born winners in the second half of the tournament:

  • 1920 Ted Ray (Jersey)
  • 1921Jim Barnes (England)
  • 1924 Cyril Walker (England)
  • 1925 Willie MacFarlane (Scotland)

This era coincides with the dominance of American amateur Bobby Joneswhen he won the US Open in 1923, 1926, 1929 and 1930. Another American Hall of Fame golfer from that era was Gene Sarazen, who won the US Open in 1922 and 1932 along with other majors before war broke out in Europe.

1895 – 1910 US Open winners

The initial period of the US Open was dominated by foreign-born golfers. Players from Scotland (12), England (3) and Jersey (1) dominated the first 16 years of the tournament. Scottish-born golfer Willie Anderson is the only player to win four consecutive US Open titles (1901, 1902, 1903 and 1904). The only other players to win four US Opens in their careers were American golfers Bobby Jones, Ben Hogan and Jack Nicklaus.

Since 1895, the US Open alone has been won 35 times by non-American golfers. Of these victories, 16 occurred before 1910 and 10 in the past 20 years. On Sunday at Brookline, we’ll see if any of the 67 international players can emerge victorious and follow Jon Rahm’s success from last year.

Leave a Comment