Illini Trio to Contend at 122nd U.S. Amateur

PARAMUS, N.J. – Three members of the Fighting Illini men’s golf team – returning fifth-year seniors Adrien Dumont de Chassart and Tommy Kuhl and rising junior Pierce hunting – are set to represent Orange & Blue when play opens Monday at 122n/a American amateur at Ridgewood Country Club and co-organizing stroke play venue Arcola Country Club.

The Illini trio will be part of a field of 312 competitors competing for the prestigious Havemeyer Trophy. The winner of the US Amateur also receives qualifying exemptions for the next 10 US amateurs, an exemption for the US Open 2023 and an exemption for the Open Championship 2023 (as an amateur), as well as a probable invitation to the Masters 2023 tournament (as an amateur).

Hunt and Kuhl finished 1-2 respectively over 36 local qualifying holes at Watertown Country Club in Watertown, Wis., on July 1 to punch their tickets to the US Amateur. Hunt earned medal honors carding rounds of 68 and 65 to finish with a 133 (-7), while Kuhl fired a 135 (66-69) to finish two shots off Hunt’s pace and grab the second of the three qualifying places for taking on this site.

Dumont de Chassart is one of 63 competitors exempt from qualifying for this year’s US Amateur, carrying two separate waivers due to both his top 50 status in the World Amateur Golf Rankings (WAGR) and his prior qualification as one of 15 amateurs in the field last June at the US Open in Brookline, Mass. Dumont de Chassart, at No. 17, is one of 18 outfield players who are ranked in the WAGR top 20 as of August 3.

The competitors will play 18 holes in stroke play on Monday and Tuesday (one round on each course) before a reduction to 64 for the first round of match play on Wednesday. Thursday’s round of 16 will be followed by quarter-finals on Friday, semi-finals on Saturday and culminating in Sunday’s 36-hole championship match.

Live coverage is available all week on Golf Channel and Peacock.

Illini departure times

Adrien Dumont de Chassart

  • Round 1: 1:39 p.m. ET / 12:39 p.m. CT at Ridgewood Country Club
  • Round 2: 8:24 a.m. ET / 7:24 p.m. CT at Arcola Country Club

Pierce hunting

  • Round 1: 2:21 p.m. ET / 1:21 p.m. CT at Arcola Country Club
  • Round 2: 9:26 a.m. ET / 8:26 a.m. CT at Ridgewood Country Club

Tommy Kuhl

  • Round 1: 7:21 a.m. ET / 6:21 a.m. CT at Arcola Country Club
  • Round 2: 12:56 p.m. ET / 11:56 a.m. CT at Ridgewood Country Club

Leave a Comment