India grouped with Brazil, USA, Morocco

Hosts India have been drawn with the United States of America, Morocco and Brazil in Group A of the FIFA U17 Women’s World Cup 2022.

Group B includes Germany, Nigeria, Chile, New Zealand
Group C includes Spain, Colombia, Mexico, China
Group D includes Japan, Tanzania, Canada, France

India’s first game will be against USA on October 11 (Tuesday) at Kalinga Stadium, Bhubaneswar. Their second match will be against Morocco on October 14 (Friday) at the same venue. Their final group stage game against Brazil will be on October 17 (Monday), still at Kalinga. All India matches will kick off at 8 p.m. There are two slots for games that take place on match days, 4:30 p.m. and 8 p.m.

Other World Cup venues are Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Goa and DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai. The quarter-finals will take place in these two stadiums.

If India qualify (as group winners or runners-up), their quarter-final will take place in Navi Mumbai (October 21). The two semi-finals are scheduled in Goa while the third-place match and the final (October 30) will take place in Navi Mumbai.

The defending champions are Spain, who beat Mexico in the final of the 2018 edition. North Korea are the most successful team in the history of the tournament, having lifted the trophy twice (2008, 2016) and finished second in 2012. Japan, South Korea and France have each won the title once. The tournament, launched in 2008, is held every two years. As a result, India was initially selected to host the 2020 edition, but this tournament was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Instead, they were chosen again as hosts for the 2022 edition.

Leave a Comment