Indian swimming team for Commonwealth Games 2022

Tokyo Olympians Sajan Prakash and Srihari Natarajalong with newbies Kushagra Rawat and Advait Page, will represent the Indian swimming team to Commonwealth Games 2022 which will be held in Birmingham, UK, from July 28 to August 8.

The Indian swimmers were considered for four available quotas after reaching the qualifying mark set by the Swimming Federation of India (SFI). The CWG swimming events will take place from July 29 to August 3.

“During the one-year qualifying period, Srihari, Sajan, Advait and Kushagra achieved the sixth fastest time in the previous Commonwealth Games,” said IFC Director Monal Chokshi. PTI. “That’s the cutoff standard that SFI had set.”

This will be Sajan Prakash and Srihari Nataraj’s second consecutive CWG appearance. The duo, along with Virdhawal Khade, competed at Gold Coast 2018.

Sajan Prakash, who became the first Indian swimmer to qualify directly for the Olympics last year, will compete in the men’s 50m, 100m and 200m butterfly events at Birmingham 2022.

Srihari Nataraj, 21, will swim in the men’s 50m freestyle, 100m and 200m backstroke events.

Kushagra Rawat and Advait Page will compete in the men’s freestyle categories.

India is yet to win a medal in swimming at the Commonwealth Games.

Indian Swimming Team for 2022 Commonwealth Games

Sajan Prakash – 50m, 100m and 200m butterfly men

Srihari Nataraj – 50m, 100m and 200m backstroke men

Kushagra Rawat – 200m, 400m and 1500m freestyle men

Advait Page – Men’s 1500m Freestyle

Leave a Comment