Leinster GAA Football

Dublin plays their provincial championship in Leinster where they have absolutely dominated for the past few years. They won the past 8 years (2011-2018) which signifies a period of dominance for their team. The competition started as the same year as the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship and Dublin have been the dominant force claiming 57 titles during the course of the competition. Again, Kilkenny are in the province of Leinster but they refuse to play because they always lose in the first round so the championship consists of 11 counties. The winner of the championship is awarded the Delaney Cup and they automatically advance to the quarter-finals of the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship.

The Championship is sponsored by Toyota, Ulster Bank, and Vodafone which is a great number of sponsors for a provincial championship. The previous year’s semi-finalists receive a bye to the quarter-finals so they do not have to play the qualifying matches. Dublin should easily win the 2019 Leinster Senior Football Championship as much of their squad will be returning to the competition and they will look to take home their 9th title in a row. The final is played at Croke Park which is the same place the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship final takes place.