Leinster GAA Hurling

The other provincial championship is the Leinster Senior Hurling Championship and it has been contested every single year since 1888. The championship has recently changed from a single elimination tournament to a round-robin system where each team plays each other once and then the top two teams play in the final for the Bob O’Keeffe Cup. The winner advances to the All-Ireland Senior Hurling semi-final while the final loser advances to the quarter-final. Galway won the championship in 2018 which was shocking as it was only their 3rd title ever. The round-robin format could certainly change the outcome of many tournaments as there are more games played compared to a single elimination tournament.

Kilkenny is by far the most successful team in the tournament with 71 titles to their name. Hurling is a religion in the Kilkenny county and that is why they have been so successful, all of the kids love the sport of hurling and the top athletes from their county go on to compete in hurling over any other sport. Kilkenny have also claimed 36 All-Ireland titles which speak volumes on how incredible Kilkenny is at the sport of hurling.