Munster GAA Hurling

The Munster Senior Hurling Championship is one of two provincial championships that still exists in GAA hurling. The competition is generally dominated by two counties, Cork and Tipperary; they have a won a total of 92 Munster Cups and claimed 56 All-Ireland Senior Hurling titles. Cork has 54 titles on their own and they are currently the title holders as they won the 2018 Munster Cup. Every single county has won the title at least once which is an incredible feat and hurling is the more popular Gaelic sport in the province. The competition is always fierce and any county has a shot at winning the Munster Cup.

Over 136,000 fans attended the Munster Senior Hurling Championship games in 2017 and they look to keep increasing their attendance numbers. The final has typically been played at either the Semple Stadium, Páirc Uí Chaoimh or the Gaelic Grounds. The winner of the Munster Cup automatically qualifies for the All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship semi-finals, which is a great way to have a shot at the All-Ireland title. The loser of the final automatically qualifies for the quarter-finals so they still have a great shot at winning the All-Ireland title.