Race results for Hawaii’s next Governor, Lt. Governor

HONOLULU (KHON2) – The results are in. The first print was released minutes before 8 p.m. Saturday, August 13 for the Hawaii primary election. In Maui, election officials had to wait for the last person to submit their ballot before the 7 p.m. deadline.

Candidates who win tonight’s races will appear on the November general election ballot for governor, lieutenant governor, U.S. Senate and House, and other offices.

Find Hawaii 2022 election coverage here

In the Democratic race for governor, Lieutenant Governor Josh Green wins with 61.7% (136,416) votes. He is followed by former first lady of Hawaii Vicky Cayetano with 20.6% (45,554) votes and Rep. Kai Kahele with 13.1% (28,848) votes.

In the Republican gubernatorial race, former Lt. Governor James R. “Duke” Aiona wins with 50.1% (29,281) votes, followed by retired MMA fighter BJ Penn with 20% (11,681). ) vote and Honolulu City Council member Heidi Tsuneyoshi with 8.8% (5,126) votes.

Green and Aiona will face off Nov. 8 for the Hawaii gubernatorial election.


This year, seven Democratic candidates have run to succeed Gov. David Ige (D), who is finishing his second term and can no longer run again. Ige was sworn in as Hawaii’s eighth governor on December 1, 2014, and became the first Okinawan-American governor. Click here to learn more about him.

During the final weeks of the campaign, Kahele and Cayetano teamed up to hold a joint press conference that raised questions about Green’s finances. Click here for Green’s answer.

David Bourgoin, Richard Kim, Clyde Lewman and Van Tanabe were also in the running for the job.


There were 10 Republican candidates vying to become Hawaii’s next governor. Among the candidates: Gary Cordery, George Hawat, Keline Kahau, Lynn Mariano, Paul Morgan, Moses Paskowitz and Walter Woods.

The results below are updated in real time:


In the Democratic race for lieutenant governor, Sylvia Luke leads with 35% (77,181) votes. She is followed by Ikaika Anderson with 25.3% (55,915) votes and Keith Amemiya with 21.7% (47,906) votes. Among the six candidates vying for the job were Daniel Cunningham, Sherry Menor-McNamara and Sam Puletasi.

For Republicans, Seaula Tupai leads with 38.7% (22,245) votes, followed by Rob Burns with 30.7% (17,670) votes and Tae Kim with 11.2% (6,419) votes.

The results below are updated in real time:

Check out more Hawaii news

To see the results of the first printing of the Hawaii primary election, Click here.

Leave a Comment