U.S., Japan, Australia, New Zealand and United Kingdom form Pacific group

June 24 (Reuters) – The United States, Australia, Japan, New Zealand and the United Kingdom have launched an informal group aimed at strengthening economic and diplomatic relations with Pacific island nations, it said on Friday. the White House.

The Biden administration has pledged to commit more resources to the Indo-Pacific as China seeks to strengthen economic, military and police ties with Pacific island nations hungry for foreign investment.

The group, dubbed Partners in the Blue Pacific (PBP), will seek to support Pacific regionalism and strengthen economic ties between Pacific islands and the rest of the world.

Join now for FREE unlimited access to Reuters.com

“We are united in our common determination to support a region that benefits the people of the Pacific. We are also united in how we achieve this vision – according to the principles of Pacific regionalism, sovereignty, transparency, responsibility and, above all, led and guided by the Pacific Islands,” the White House said.

White House Indo-Pacific coordinator Kurt Campbell said Thursday he expects more top US officials to visit Pacific island nations as Washington steps up its engagement to counter China. in this strategically important region. Read more

Campbell said the United States needs more diplomatic facilities in the region and more contact with Pacific island countries that “sometimes get less attention.”

Join now for FREE unlimited access to Reuters.com

Reporting by Jarrett Renshaw; Editing by Leslie Adler

Our standards: The Thomson Reuters Trust Principles.

Leave a Comment